top of page

Never walked that far in my life...

This blog platform is for everyone involved in this effort; we don't just want to be subjected to my ramblings. Hopefully we'll hear from a wide variety of voices. This post is from Jo Marriott, who is the person at Cancer Research UK dealing with Laurence (all credit to Jo for taking me on!)

Before: Laura Holland and Jo Marriott from Cancer Research UK on Seaford beach, catching the breeze...

.

I first met Laurence last September when we met to talk about his plan to raise money for Cancer Research UK (CRUK).  Fast forward 9 months to 16 June 2018 and I was incredibly honoured to send Laurence off on his incredible journey to walk 3500 miles over a year in aid of CRUK. 

My role in the fundraising team at CRUK means that I get the chance to meet many of our incredible supporters who give up their spare time to support the charity in various ways.  Hearing their personal stories is always such a privilege and gives me the motivation to do my bit to beat cancer.

From our initial meeting, I could sense Laurence’s quiet determination to honour Melitta’s memory and influence changes around HPV vaccination and screening, he knew what he wanted to do and I just had to help him make it happen.

When I said that I’d be there to join him on the first day with my colleague Laura I didn’t realise quite how far we would be walking though!  I take my dog for a short walks but that definitely didn’t prepare me for the 14 miles that we covered from Seaford to Brighton – I’m still nursing the blisters to prove that I did it though. This small challenge for me was nothing compared to what Laurence has committed to for the next year which will save lives as a result.

The second day when we waved him off a bit further around the coast at Shoreham-by-Sea, I will admit to feeling like a proud parent sending her child off into the big wild world!

Laurence – you are an incredibly inspiring man and I’m proud to be supporting you through the next year!


14 miles later, that drink tastes good...

124 views0 comments

Comentários


bottom of page